December 20, 2022 all-day

Dec 20, 1860. South Carolinas legislature voted to secede from the US, the first state to do so. Within six weeks, five more states seceded. On Feb 4, 1861, representatives from the six states met at Montgomery, AL, to establish a government and on Feb 9 Jefferson Davis was elected president of the Confederate States of America. By June 1861, 11 stateshad seceded.

This post was imported from a CSV/ICS file.
Translate »
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and unique content from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This