Cyndi’s List Celebrates Its 15th Anniversary!

cyndis list

Remember when you first started using the Internet? How fascinating it was to just go from site to site using “hyperlinks” – sort of like an informational jet pack strapped to your computer?

And then you decided to see if there was anything about your hobby or profession called genealogy out in this great big frontier called The Web. I bet one of the first places you landed was Cyndi’s List.

That’s how it was for me back in 1996 when I first discovered this fantastic resource for genealogy. True confession: Cyndi’s List was like genealogical “crack” for me – I just couldn’t get enough!

Well today, Cyndi Howells of Cyndi’s List is celebrating 15 years of giving to the community! And I personally want to thank her for her years of hard work in providing this FREE site.

How You Can Help Celebrate

  • Consider making a donation – any size will help – to Cyndi’s List via Paypal. Cyndi’s List has always been a FREE resource for the community and right now the site is in the middle of a major upgrade.
  • Tune in to GeneaBloggers Radio tonite starting at 10pm EST, 9pm CST, 8pm MST and 7pm PST where our special guest will be Cyndi Howells herself! I’ll be interviewing Cyndi about the past 15 years at Cyndi’s List and you’ll have a chance to call in and express your thanks!

©2011, copyright Thomas MacEntee

Print Friendly

This entry was posted in GeneaBloggers and tagged by Thomas MacEntee. Bookmark the permalink.

About Thomas MacEntee

What happens when a “tech guy” with a love for history gets laid off during The Great Recession of 2008? You get Thomas MacEntee, a genealogy professional who’s also a blogger, educator, author, social media connector, online community builder and more. Thomas was laid off after a 25-year career in the information technology field, so he started his own genealogy-related business called High Definition Genealogy. He also created an online community of over 3,000 family history bloggers known as GeneaBloggers. His most recent endeavor, Hack Genealogy, is an attempt to “re-purpose today’s technology for tomorrow’s genealogy.” Thomas describes himself as a lifelong learner with a background in a multitude of topics who has finally figured out what he does best: teach, inspire, instigate, and serve as a curator and go-to-guy for concept nurturing and inspiration. Thomas is a big believer in success, and that we all succeed when we help each other find success.

Comments

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...